>Home >Organization >URSI Benelux Forum 2022 >Activities >Links and sponsors >Restricted


URSI International

Radio science encompasses the knowledge and study of all aspects of electromagnetic fields and waves. The International Union of Radio Science (Union Radio-Scientifique Internationale), a non-governmental and non-profit organization under the International Science Council, is responsible for stimulating and coordinating, on an international basis, studies, research, applications, scientific exchange, and communication in the fields of radio science. Included within the objectives are the following: 
a) to encourage and promote international activity in radio science and its applications, for the benefit of humanity; 
b) to encourage the adoption of common methods of measurement, and the intercomparison and standardization of the measuring instruments used in scientific work; 
c) to stimulate and co-ordinate studies of:
- the scientific aspects of telecommunications using electromagnetic waves, guided and unguided; 
- the generation, emission, radiation, propagation, reception, and detection of fields and waves, and the processing of the signals embedded in them. 
d) to represent radio science to the general public, and to public and private organizations.


URSI Netherlands

The Netherlands URSI Committee is a part of the Royal Netherlands Academy of Arts and Sciences (KNAW). As is the International Union of Radio Science, the Netherlands URSI Committee is structured in 10 commissions. These commissions are:

Commission A: Electromagnetic metrology
Chairman: Vacant

Commission B: Fields and Waves
Chairman: Prof.dr. Alex Yarovoy

Commission C: Radio-Communication systems and signal processing
Chairman: Dr. Ir. Mark Bentum

Commission D: Electronics and photonics
Chairman: Ir. Frank van den Bogaart

Commission E: Electromagnetic noise and interference
Chairman: Dr. Ramiro Serra

Commission F: Propagation and teledetection
Chairman: Vacant

Commission G: Radio-electricity and ionospheric propagation
Chairman: Raul Orus Perez

Commission H: Waves and Plasmas
Chairman: Vacant

Commission J: Radio-astronomy
Chairman: Prof. Arnold van Ardenne

Commission K: Electromagnetism in Biology and Medicine
Chairman: Prof.dr. Peter Zwamborn

Officials in URSI International from the NUC
URSI Assistant-Secretary General: Prof. Dr. Ir. Stefan J. Wijnholds and Prof. Dr. Willem Baan
URSI Commission J Vice-Chair: Prof. Dr. Ir. Stefan J. Wijnholds